Australian Hair Fashion Awards celebrates major milestone

The Australian Hair Fashion Awards (AHFA), presented by Dyson, was recently held at The Big Top at Luna Park Sydney, with a sold-out 300 strong crowd of VIP and industry guests in attendance and hundreds of others from around the globe who enjoyed the celebrations via a live video stream.

In its 28th year, the event is Australia’s largest and most successful independent hair fashion awards ceremony that has been the first live onsite and online hybrid event presented this year.

Image source: Identity PR

“The hair, fashion and beauty industries have faced extreme challenges during the global pandemic, but their sense of community, saw them come together to support each other and counteract their struggles and emerge with an even stronger show of creativity, innovation and skill that we passionately celebrated on the night,” M Division CEO and AHFA founder, David Mannah, said.

The prestigious event was hosted by the elegant beauty queen and former Miss World Australia, Erin Holland, who kept both onsite and online guests celebrating throughout. Hilarious duo, SketchShe, greeted and entertained the guests as they walked the black carpet and headed in to enjoy an indulgent three course menu of fine food and wine, with special guests in attendance including TV personality, Richard Reid.

Image source: Identity PR

The Australian Hair Fashion Awards attracts hundreds of entries from leading salons and individuals across Australia. Entries are judged independently by a panel of international industry professionals who are given the challenge to select both the finalists and winners out of the best in the Australian industry.

This year’s winners included some familiar names and renowned industry heavyweights; Dyson Australian Styling Ambassador, Joey Scandizzo, won AHFA Salon Business of the Year, celebrity hair stylist and Dyson Australian Styling Ambassador, Renya Xydis, was named AHFA Digital Influencer of the Year and Sarah Laidlaw was honoured as AHFA Session Stylist of the Year. The major award of the night, the AHFA Australian Hairdresser of the Year presented by Dyson was awarded to Jamie Furlan from Xiang Hair.

Image source: Identity PR

Other notable awards included the State by State ‘Hairdressers of the Year’

WA / NT - Jude McEwen – Tony & Guy Perth Central
SA / TAS - Sam James – SJ Establishment
QLD - Amy Gaudie – Urban Chic
VIC - Cristina Tatasciore – Flipped Hair
NSW - Richi Grisillo – Acdemie Salon

The evening featured an on the pulse Dyson Runway that showcased a high level of creative artistry by the brand’s Australian Styling Ambassadors in a high energy ‘90s theme across music, video and lighting to celebrate Dyson being born in that era.

Main image source: It's A Hair Thing